Loving Mid 1960s Rock

When I was a teen I would take the bus going to school. The bus driver would often be playing KYA 1260 AM, which was dedicated to playing pop music from the 1950s and 1960s. I grew to love the music of that era, from early rock and roll, to soul music, the surfing sound and even the bubble rock. My favorite music was mid 1960s rock, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, the Animals, and the like. Rock back then was still pretty close to its blues and country roots, and you could hear it in the music of the British and American bands of the times. Bob Dylan and the folk music scene were also influencing the rock music at that time, as well as Motown.

Here is a sampling of some of my favorite bands of the time.

Here is a 1963 performance of the Beatles performing “Money (That’s What I Want)”

Here is the Rolling Stones performing “Not Fade Away” for the Mike Douglass Show in 1964

Here is a 1964 performance of The Animals singing “I’m Crying”

Here is The Kinks performing “You Really Got Me” in 1965

Here is Them featuring Van Morrison performing “Gloria” in 1965

Here is The Yardbirds singing “For Your Love” in 1965

Here is the Zombies singing “She’s Not There” in 1965

Here is the Rascals singing “Good Lovin'” in 1966

About angelolopez

I’ve wanted to be an artist all my life. Since I was a child I’ve drawn on any scrap of paper I could get a hold of. When I went to San Jose State University, I became more exposed to the works of the great fine artists and illustrators. My college paintings were heavily influenced by the humorous illustrations of Peter De Seve, an illustrator for the New Yorker magazine. I also fell under the spell of the great muralists of the 1930s, especially Thomas Hart Benton and Diego Rivera. I graduated with a degree in Illustration. Since my time in college, my goal has been to be a successful children’s book illustrator. I’ve illustrated 3 books: Two Moms the Zark and Me by Johnny Valentine in 1993; Night Travelers by Sue Hill in 1994; and Cherubic Children’s New Classic Story Book Volume 2 for Cherubic Press in 1998. I’ve painted murals for Lester Shields Elementary School in San Jose, the Berryessa branch of the San Jose Public Library, and Grace Community Church in Los Altos. I’ve had a few illustrations published in South Bay Accent Magazine and I will have an illustration published in the January/February issue of Tikkun magazine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Loving Mid 1960s Rock

  1. Love this, Angelo. This is one of my favorite eras, along with the folk music era, which sort of overlapped. Of course, I was still in my twenties when these groups started. I guess you and I are bridging the generation gap. Of course, my kids like this music too.

Leave a Reply

