Bible Cartoons

When I attended an Episcopal Church in the late 2000s, I produced a weekly cartoon for the church bulletin to go with the the weekly readings. Bible Cartoons is a collection of these cartoons, which are collected from the years 2009 to 2012. I would read the lectionary of the Episcopal Church on Monday and figure out which passage gave me an idea for a cartoon. Sometimes an idea would come from a book that I just read from the church library. At other times, I would free associate and come up with something that is a bit more humorous.

I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with Christianity right now. I’ve had some wonderful experiences in church and I’ve had some terrible experiences in church. But overall I think there are more good things about Christianity than bad. In spite of some bad experiences, I still find myself attracted to church and have persisted in trying to find the right church for me. I’m not really a great Christian. I don’t love my enemy, or forgive easily anymore. But I do think those are good qualities to have. I like what Pope Francis said about church. The pope said that church is not just a sanctuary for saints, it’s also a hospital for sinners. I do not take the Bible literally, but I do find value in the Bible and think it has important things to say about the Jewish and Christian experience with God.

There is a website called Createspace where anybody can self-publish their own book and sell it on Amazon. Just create a PDF file of your book and make sure it is under 400 MB and submit it to the website.

Here is what some people are writing about “Bible Cartoons”.

“Angelo Lopez has a remarkable talent for bringing the message of the gospels into contemporary context through creative, engaging visual images that make the stories new again. His cartoon art enlivens and challenges with poignancy, warmth, and compassion.”
ELIZABETH DRESCHER author of ‘Choosing Our Religion: The Spiritual Lives of America’s Nones’

“I have been following Angelo Lopez’s cartoons and writings for several years now. I find them insightful, contemporary, and inspiring. Angelo goes to the heart of the matter with his drawings and wit.”
REV. J.T. RAMELIS boardmember of the Progressive Christian Alliance

“What does Angelo Lopez have in common with FIRE? Read his challenging words, see the human condition through the eyes of his reality-based cartoons, and listen deeply to his passionate call-to-involvement in bettering the lives of suffering human beings. He BURNS with outrageous prophetic insights; sheds LIGHT on the intrigues of the human heart, and GLOWS with zealous concern for the poor and oppressed of our times. We would do well to take the hand of this visually creative FIREBRAND and join our torches to his in bringing a newly envisioned kind of FIRE to the world once again!”
RAPH MARTIN Catholic Anarchist

“Angelo Lopez creates cartoons that are at once illuminating, engaging, and thought-provoking. Each is packed with messages and new insights about his subjects. He calls us to appreciate the richness of the moments he captures. I am excited about this talented artist’s new book.”
KAT MORGAN, Facilitator, ChangeAbility Solutions

About angelolopez

I’ve wanted to be an artist all my life. Since I was a child I’ve drawn on any scrap of paper I could get a hold of. When I went to San Jose State University, I became more exposed to the works of the great fine artists and illustrators. My college paintings were heavily influenced by the humorous illustrations of Peter De Seve, an illustrator for the New Yorker magazine. I also fell under the spell of the great muralists of the 1930s, especially Thomas Hart Benton and Diego Rivera. I graduated with a degree in Illustration. Since my time in college, my goal has been to be a successful children’s book illustrator. I’ve illustrated 3 books: Two Moms the Zark and Me by Johnny Valentine in 1993; Night Travelers by Sue Hill in 1994; and Cherubic Children’s New Classic Story Book Volume 2 for Cherubic Press in 1998. I’ve painted murals for Lester Shields Elementary School in San Jose, the Berryessa branch of the San Jose Public Library, and Grace Community Church in Los Altos. I’ve had a few illustrations published in South Bay Accent Magazine and I will have an illustration published in the January/February issue of Tikkun magazine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bible Cartoons

  1. Hi, Angelo–I too have had a love/hate relationship with Christianity, which is why I’m now a Unitarian Universalist. I like the UU Church, even though I got out of the habit of going to Sunday services when I was working. Now my husband and I take our dog for a walk in the park on Sunday morning.
    I need to get a copy of your book. I’ll do that when I get a moment. I just sent a poetry manuscript to a publisher. We’ll see what happens with that.

    Diane

Leave a Reply

