An Art Show at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery in November 2015

On Saturday, November 14, 2015 I joined 17 local artists in hosting a reception for an art show we were having at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery. Guests had an enjoyable time looking at art and talking to the artists. I got a chance to see friends that I hadn’t seen in several years.

It’s always fun to have these receptions. We’re always hoping to have sales of our art. But more important, it’s nice to talk to people and hear how our art is received by them. Artists often create their work in isolation, so we often look forward to hearing some feedback on how our art touches someone’s life. For several artists in the group show, this is their first time exhibiting their work in a gallery. So for them the experience has been a thrill.

We are having our art show for the entire month of November. The Sunnyvale Art Gallery is located at 251 West El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, California. You can see the art show until the last day of November.

Here is a video of our art reception.

Here are two videos of some of the art in the show.

About angelolopez

I’ve wanted to be an artist all my life. Since I was a child I’ve drawn on any scrap of paper I could get a hold of. When I went to San Jose State University, I became more exposed to the works of the great fine artists and illustrators. My college paintings were heavily influenced by the humorous illustrations of Peter De Seve, an illustrator for the New Yorker magazine. I also fell under the spell of the great muralists of the 1930s, especially Thomas Hart Benton and Diego Rivera. I graduated with a degree in Illustration. Since my time in college, my goal has been to be a successful children’s book illustrator. I’ve illustrated 3 books: Two Moms the Zark and Me by Johnny Valentine in 1993; Night Travelers by Sue Hill in 1994; and Cherubic Children’s New Classic Story Book Volume 2 for Cherubic Press in 1998. I’ve painted murals for Lester Shields Elementary School in San Jose, the Berryessa branch of the San Jose Public Library, and Grace Community Church in Los Altos. I’ve had a few illustrations published in South Bay Accent Magazine and I will have an illustration published in the January/February issue of Tikkun magazine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

