Art at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery

One of the great joys in my life is in sharing my art work with people. In the late 2000s, my work was shown at Gallery Saratoga, a wonderful co-op gallery that unfortunately closed its doors last year. In Sunnyvale, the Sunnyvale Art Gallery has been showcasing the work of local artists and has acted as a hub for artists, musicians, poets and creative people to meet and to be inspired. This gallery has been a treasure for the Sunnyvale community.

I’ve participated in several art exhibits in the Sunnyvale Art Gallery since it opened in 2010. In these shows, I’ve gotten a chance to meet and be friends with many local artists that I never knew. Being an artist is often a solitary pursuit, so it’s always good to find other artists that I can talk to who have the same interests. This June 2015, I’ll have some of my art exhibited at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery, along with a few other artists. Here is a youtube video of the art being exhibited.

One of the things that I enjoy about the Sunnyvale Art Gallery is the variety of things that it offers. There is a coffee shop that serves tasty sandwiches and drinks, and there is free wi-fi where you could look at your laptop or iphone. A thriving flower shop delivers flowers for every occasion. An art supply store has paints, brushes, canvas, paper and every material that an artist would want. And there are art classes in the mornings and afternoons.

A few months ago I attended an event by the Sunnyvale Movie Lovers Groups, where they showed “Mr. Deeds Goes To Town” at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery. I decided to drop by out of curiosity and because I’m a big Frank Capra fan. A small but enthusiastic group of people watched a nice fellow set up an old looking film and projector and we watched a Porky Pig short, a newsreel from 1949, then the featured movie. It was a fun experience. The Sunnyvale Movie Lovers Groups just recently formed and they hope that word-of-mouth will eventually attract movie lovers in the Sunnyvale area to their events.

At another part of the gallery, the biweekly Open Mic night crowd was enjoying the rappers, guitarists, poets, and singers who went up to the mic. I love the events at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery and hope more people come and enjoy the various events in the gallery.

Here are some youtube videos of past events at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery

Sweet HayaH perform at ‘The Canvas Open Mic 2nd Anniversary’ held at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery in 2012

April Chase performing Terrible Things for ‘Rise and Shine Presents: An Evening with the Dudes’ at Sunnyvale Art Gallery in 2011

Gianfranco & Jessica perform at ‘The Canvas Open Mic 2nd Anniversary’ held at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery in 2012

Frankie Tan shares some original spoken word poems at the Canvas Open Mic 4 Year Anniversary held at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery in 2011 in Sunnyvale, CA.

CryWolffs performs a violin cover by OneRepublic called “Secrets” at the Canvas Open Mic held at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery Cafe in 2011 in Sunnyvale, CA

Dave Strom narrates an excerpt from his original novel “The Comic Book Code” at the Canvas Open Mic held at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery Café

Above As One perform b-boying at ‘The Canvas Open Mic 2nd Anniversary’ held at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery in 2012

Cassandra Davies recites an original poem at The Sounds of Poetry: Artist Showcase held at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery

About angelolopez

I’ve wanted to be an artist all my life. Since I was a child I’ve drawn on any scrap of paper I could get a hold of. When I went to San Jose State University, I became more exposed to the works of the great fine artists and illustrators. My college paintings were heavily influenced by the humorous illustrations of Peter De Seve, an illustrator for the New Yorker magazine. I also fell under the spell of the great muralists of the 1930s, especially Thomas Hart Benton and Diego Rivera. I graduated with a degree in Illustration. Since my time in college, my goal has been to be a successful children’s book illustrator. I’ve illustrated 3 books: Two Moms the Zark and Me by Johnny Valentine in 1993; Night Travelers by Sue Hill in 1994; and Cherubic Children’s New Classic Story Book Volume 2 for Cherubic Press in 1998. I’ve painted murals for Lester Shields Elementary School in San Jose, the Berryessa branch of the San Jose Public Library, and Grace Community Church in Los Altos. I’ve had a few illustrations published in South Bay Accent Magazine and I will have an illustration published in the January/February issue of Tikkun magazine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art at the Sunnyvale Art Gallery

  1. Angelo–Congratulations on your showing. I really enjoy reading about you and your art. The Sunnyvale Art Gallery looks like a happenin’ place. Wish I could have been there.

Leave a Reply

