An Art Show in October

This October I invite everyone to an art show that I will be having this October with fellow artist Woody Miller in Gallery Saratoga in Saratoga, California. The show will run from October 5 to October 31. They will display their whimsical and humorous paintings and sell cards and prints of their work.

On Saturday, October 9, they will have a reception from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. During that time, you will be able to meet the artists and talk about their art and meet many fellow art lovers. Food and refreshments will be served. Please come to their show.

Woody Miller is an up and coming children’s book illustrator living in northern California. Woody has 3 children’s books under his belt: Meet the Howlers by April Pulley Sayre and published by Charlesbridge Press; Philippe’s Wish words and pictures by Woody Miller for the iPad in the iTunes store; and an upcoming book Zishe the Strongman by Robert Rubinstein. He is a member of the Northern California branch of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and has contributed several illustrations to art contests that they’ve hosted. Woody recently did a children’s mural for the San Francisco Lighthouse, a church in San Francisco. Woody regularly displays his work in Kaleid Gallery in San Jose, California and the Phantom Galleries in Redwood City, California.

I am a political cartoonist and aspiring children’s book illustrator. During the 1990s I illustrated three books: Two Moms The Zark And Me by Johnny Valentine for Alyson Publications; Night Travelers by Sue Hill for Aegina Press; and Cherubic Children’s New Classic Story Book, Volume 2. I have created murals for Lester Shields Elementary School, for the Berryessa branch of the San Jose Public Library, and for the Sunnyvale Public Library. Currently I do political cartoons for the Tri-City Voice, a community newspaper that covers the Fremont, Milpitas, Union City, Sunol and Hayward areas of the San Francisco Bay Area. I am a member of Gallery Saratoga, a artist co-op gallery in Saratoga, California, and frequently show my work in the Sunnyvale Art Gallery and the coffee shop The Bean Scene, both located in Sunnyvale, California.

Gallery Saratoga is located at 14435-A Big Basin Way in Saratoga, California 95070. Their telephone number is (408) 867-0458. They are open Tuesday through Sunday, from 11:00AM to 6:00PM.

If you’re in the area, please feel free to come.

About angelolopez

I’ve wanted to be an artist all my life. Since I was a child I’ve drawn on any scrap of paper I could get a hold of. When I went to San Jose State University, I became more exposed to the works of the great fine artists and illustrators. My college paintings were heavily influenced by the humorous illustrations of Peter De Seve, an illustrator for the New Yorker magazine. I also fell under the spell of the great muralists of the 1930s, especially Thomas Hart Benton and Diego Rivera. I graduated with a degree in Illustration. Since my time in college, my goal has been to be a successful children’s book illustrator. I’ve illustrated 3 books: Two Moms the Zark and Me by Johnny Valentine in 1993; Night Travelers by Sue Hill in 1994; and Cherubic Children’s New Classic Story Book Volume 2 for Cherubic Press in 1998. I’ve painted murals for Lester Shields Elementary School in San Jose, the Berryessa branch of the San Jose Public Library, and Grace Community Church in Los Altos. I’ve had a few illustrations published in South Bay Accent Magazine and I will have an illustration published in the January/February issue of Tikkun magazine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

