Cartoons for the Tri-City Voice April to June 2009

On April 9, 2008, I began to do cartoons for the Tri-City Voice, a newspaper that covers the Milpitas, Fremont, and Union City areas in the San Francisco Bay Area. It’s been a dream come true for me to be a published cartoonist and I’ve really enjoyed thinking up of cartoons each week. Most of my cartoons are political cartoons, but I occassionally do cartoons of the local Bay Area scene and cartoons for the holidays.

In the months of April through June, the Obama administration began to try to live up to the promise of making changes to the direction that our country was going to. Obama chose Sonia Sotomayor as the first female hispanic nominee for the Supreme Court. Across the nation, newspapers were going out of business, as younger people used the internet to gather their news and circulation continued to drop. Ordinary people expressed outrage that corporations and banks that accepted federal bailouts used part of that money to pay bonuses to their executives and employees. Obama tried to start negotiations with Russia to reduce the number of nuclear weapons that each side has. The federal government used stress tests to assure the public that the top banks were healthy enough to withstand further downturns in the economy. In local news, the communication lines of Santa Cruz and Los Gatos were shut down for a day when someone went underground and cut a few wires in a cable line. The California budget faced major cuts in education and social services as the recession severely cut the income to the state government.

To view the cartoons that I’ve done for the Tri-City Voice from April through June 2009, click the dates below. The cartoon is below the crossword puzzle.

Swine Flew June 24, 2009
Customers Wanted June 17, 2009
Testing Sotomayor June 10, 2009
Cutting the California Budget June 3, 2009
Worrying About Gay Marriage May 27, 2009
The Bank Stress Tests May 20, 2009
Swine Flu and Bull Markets May 13, 2009
Obama and Change May 6, 2009
Corporate Bonuses April 29, 2009
Cutting the Communication Networks April 22, 2009
Taming Nuclear Weapons April 15, 2009
Saving the Chronicle April 8, 2009
The Tri-City Voice April 1, 2009

About angelolopez

I’ve wanted to be an artist all my life. Since I was a child I’ve drawn on any scrap of paper I could get a hold of. When I went to San Jose State University, I became more exposed to the works of the great fine artists and illustrators. My college paintings were heavily influenced by the humorous illustrations of Peter De Seve, an illustrator for the New Yorker magazine. I also fell under the spell of the great muralists of the 1930s, especially Thomas Hart Benton and Diego Rivera. I graduated with a degree in Illustration. Since my time in college, my goal has been to be a successful children’s book illustrator. I’ve illustrated 3 books: Two Moms the Zark and Me by Johnny Valentine in 1993; Night Travelers by Sue Hill in 1994; and Cherubic Children’s New Classic Story Book Volume 2 for Cherubic Press in 1998. I’ve painted murals for Lester Shields Elementary School in San Jose, the Berryessa branch of the San Jose Public Library, and Grace Community Church in Los Altos. I’ve had a few illustrations published in South Bay Accent Magazine and I will have an illustration published in the January/February issue of Tikkun magazine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

